Santiago de Compostela…I have arrived!

I walked into Santiago yesterday morning in very blustery, rainy and freezing conditions (memories of Maleny) The 20 km walk from O Pedrouzo was to be a joyful walk into the city that has been the focus of my forty-one days and 1200 kms on the road. My friend, Amanda, ( Brisbane) and I decided that we didn’t want to go into the dark, muddy forest at 5:30 am, so we decided to follow the bitumen road out of town. We were doing really well in terms of time and were a mere 3 kms from Santiago when  the Civil Guard (police) pulled us up. Our offence was not speeding,(although we were walking extremely fast) but walking along the main freeway into the city. We had to take the following exit, then wandered around farmland for awhile before arriving in time for the pilgrims Mass. The cathedral was icy but the service warmed the heart.

A fondness for good tapas, found mainly in the larger cities/towns, was a belated breakfast/lunch enjoyed with some local wine. For the first time in 6 weeks, I indulged in the Spanish tradition of siesta…wonderful! Even more wonderful was actually staying in bed for more the 5 hours a night and not having to rise in the dark to start walking…but I did wake at 5:00 am regardless!

Tomorrow is ‘put the pack on again day’ and I will walk to Finisterre on the coast. At the moment I am undecided whether to make it a 3 or 4 day trip, 88 kms or 116 kms. Weather watching has become a bit of a pastime and I am hoping for better conditions to walk out in tomorrow.

Looking forward to meeting up with Don in London on Monday when he arrives from South Africa. Don will be working in London for a month and I plan to do some serious relaxation. Perhaps we may even do some weekend trips out of the city…or even to the the Spanish Costa Brava!

I promise to fill in some of the most interesting stages of my walk when I have an opportunity but really just wanted to share with you all my joyful arrival in Santiago de Compostela.

Until again…

Annie

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Santiago de Compostela…I have arrived!

  1. Taking some of those steps with you Annie. Best wishes, Franki

  2. QB says:

    Bravo Annie xx QB

  3. Helen Coburn says:

    Well done Annie, have enjoyed your updates. What an achievement!
    Regards, Helen Coburn

Leave a Reply

